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The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services, under authority of federal law, imposes a requirement on state governments to
ensure that nurse aides have the education and clinical skills necessary to care for residents of
long term care facilities. See 42 C.F.R. Part 483. These regulations also require that each
State maintain a nurse aide Registry, which, pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)iv), must
contain all substantiated findings by the State of resident mistreatment, abuse, neglect, or
misappropriation of resident property by a certified nurse aide.

The Certification Program of the New Jersey State Department of Health (Department) was
notified of the results of an investigation in which there was sufficient information that you
misappropriated property belonging to a resident at an assisted living facility by taking and using
his credit card without his consent. This occurred on or about May 21, 2018 to June 12, 2018,
while you were employed as a certified nurse aide at Spring Oak Assisted Living of Voorhees in
Berlin, New Jersey.

Specifically, you took a credit card from a resident without his consent and made five fraudulent
transactions using his TD Bank credit card, totaling $460.67, in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C-21-
B8(c)(1); credit card theft; and impersonation, in violation of N.J.S. A. 2C:21-17(@)(1). This
occurred on or about May 21, 2018 to June 12, 2018 while you were employed at Spring Oak
Assisted Living of Voorhees in Berlin, New Jersey.

On July 9, 2018, an Order of Summary Suspension for your CNA certification and Medication
Aide certification was sent to the address of record on the New Jersey Nurse Aide Registry
(Registry), via UPS next day and first-class mail. The first-class mail letter was not returned to
this office, and UPS tracking affirmed that the letter was also delivered on July 10, 2018. The
letter and Order of Summary Suspension indicated that you had thirty (30) days from date of
receipt of the notice to request an expedited hearing. You did not request an expedited hearing
and your certification remains suspended.
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Subsequently, on October 29, 2018, you were sent a Right to Hearing letter advising you of the
Department’s intent to place a finding of misappropriation next to your name on the New Jersey
Nurse Aide Registry (Registry), and Medication Aide Registry and to revoke your certifications.
At that time, you were notified that you had 30 days to request a hearing to contest the charges
against you. This office received no such request within the prescribed time.

If you moved, it is your responsibility to notify the Nurse Aide Registry and the Criminal
- Background Investigation Unit of your new address.

Therefore, in accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)(iv), please be advised that a finding of
Misappropriation will be placed next to your name on the Registry on December 18, 2018, and
will remain on the Registry permanently. Please also be advised that your certifications as a
nurse aide and medication aide are revoked.

Please surrender your nurse aide and medication aide certificate and wallet cards to:

Office of Program Compliance-Reporting
25 South Stockton Street, 2™ Floor

PO Box 358

Trenton, NJ 08625-0358

The certificates and the wallet cards are no longer valid and the status of your nurse aide
and medication aide certification are now revoked.

Please be advised that pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.1 (a)(1), only individuals who maintain a
currently valid nurse aide certificate and are registered in good standing on the Registry are
considered by the Department to be competent to work as a nurse aide in a licensed long term
care facility. A certified nurse aide is no longer registered in good standing if a finding of abuse,
neglect or misappropriation by the certified nurse aide is included on the registry. Therefore, as
long as a finding of Abuse remains next to your name on the Registry, you are prohibited from
employment as a certified nurse aide in a licensed long term care facility.

In accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156 and N.J AC. 8.39-43.7, you are entitled to submit a
written statement contesting the findings noted above. This statement will be maintained on the
Registry. If you wish to submit such a written statement, you must do so within 20 days of the
date of this letter. Your letter should reference “Notice of Revocation of Nurse Aide Certificate:
Contested Findings."

Please forward this statement to the Office of Program Compliance-Reporting along with your
nurse aide certification and your nurse aide wallet card to the address listed above.

Sincerely,

‘Gene Rosenbluw

Office of Program Compliance
Division of Certificate of Need and Licensing
New Jersey Department of Health

GR/bjg

DATE: December 18, 2018
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